Tales from the Subterranean

01 - Time Riding

02 - Giovanni’s Friend

03 - Footworks

04 - Westward at Sundown

05 - Transcending

06 - Lilith’s Tune

07 - Long and Short

08 - The Twins

09 - Whirling

10 - Minor Thoughts

11 - Grace

12 - Hailing from the Mountains

Fifth solo album from saxophonist Julius Gabriel. Born out of new sounds and rhythms that the musician discovered during the pandemic, “Tales From The Subterranean” embodies a blend of primal energy and inventive exploration across twelve tracks. The opener “Time Riding” sets the mood, a tearing rhythm that sounds like a frenetic tap dance. It invites you to move and when you get to “Footworks” you are all set up, merging saxophone finger percussion with a continuous siren whisper emanating from the instrument, provoking euphoria, fear and satisfaction all at once. Moving on, you start to understand the sense of discovery behind the record and the needs Julius had, like to construct a saxophone with drone capabilities and closer to an idea of natural sound. “Hailing From The Mountains” has a meditative tone; “Westward At Sundown” feels like a ballad. Born from darkness yet radiating with newfound light, “Tales from the Subterranean“ stands as a testament to the resilience of artistic expression. It is primal music.